Home» Soccer Rules» Soccer Law 15

Soccer Law 15
The Throw-in

The Throw-in

Throw-in
  • A throw-in is a method of restarting play.
  • A goal cannot be scored directly from a throw-in.
  • A throw-in is awarded:

    • when the whole of the ball passes over the touchline, either on the ground or in the air; from the point where it crossed the touch line;
    • to the opponents of the player who last touched the ball.
    Throw-in

    Procedure

  • At the moment of delivering the ball, the thrower:
  • faces the field of play;
  • has part of each foot either on the touchline or on the ground outside the touchline
  • uses both hands
  • delivers the ball from behind and over his head.
  • The thrower may not touch the ball again until it has touched another player.
  • All opponents must stand no less than 2 meters from the point at which the throw-in is taken.
  • The ball is in play immediately after it enters the field of play.


  • Incorrect executed Throw-in
    Player's right foot comes off of the ground.
    Incorrect executed Throw-ins

    Player's left foot touches the field inside the touchline (sideline).

    Incorrect executed Throw-in

    Infringements/Sanctions

  • Throw-in taken by a player other than the goalkeeper:


  • If, after the ball is in play, the thrower touches the ball a second time (except with his hands) before it has touched another player:
    • an indirect free kick is awarded to the opposing team, the kick to be taken from the place where the infringement occurred.
    If, after the ball is in play, the thrower deliberately handles the ball before it has touched another player:
    • a direct free kick is awarded to the opposing team, the kick to be taken from the place where the infringement occurred.
    • a penalty kick is awarded if the infringement occurred inside the thrower's penalty area.
  • Throw-in taken by the goalkeeper:


  • If, after the ball is in play, the goalkeeper touches the ball a second time (except with his hands), before it has touched another player:
    • an indirect free kick is awarded to the opposing team, the kick to be taken from the place where the infringement occurred.
    If, after the ball is in play, the goalkeeper deliberately handles the ball before it has touched another player:
    • a direct free kick is awarded to the opposing team if the infringement occurred outside the goalkeeper's penalty area, the kick to be taken from the place where the infringement occurred.
    • an indirect free kick is awarded to the opposing team if the infringement occurred inside the goalkeeper's penalty area, the kick to be taken from the place where the infringement occurred.
    If an opponent unfairly distracts or impedes the thrower:
    • he is cautioned for unsporting behavior and shown the yellow card.
    For any other infringement of this Law:
    • the throw-in is taken by a player of the opposing team.

    Go back to the top of Soccer Law 15 page